Vegan Mayo

« LAST UPDATE: 30 January 2022 »

PUBLISHED: 15 May 2015

Let’s talk mayonnaise.

It’s a critical component in creamy dishes like potato salad, macaroni salad, and coleslaw. It makes a terrific sandwich spread, and it’s perfect for dipping french fries.

Luckily, getting a dairy-free version of that creamy taste you love has never been easier.

Here’s everything you need to know.

QUICK FACTS

» Category: Food & Drink Guides
» Minutes to Read: 5
» Recipes to Try: 7

Vegan Mayo

PUBLISHED: 16 May 2015  »  LAST UPDATE: 30 January 2022

Let’s talk mayonnaise.

It’s a critical component in creamy dishes like potato salad, macaroni salad, and coleslaw. It makes a terrific sandwich spread, and it’s perfect for dipping french fries.

Luckily, getting a dairy-free version of that creamy taste you love has never been easier.

Here’s everything you need to know.

QUICK FACTS

» Category: Food & Drink Guides
» Minutes to Read: 5
» Recipes to Try: 7

 

Shopping Guide

Let’s talk about mayo basics. Most likely, you know that mayonnaise usually contains eggs. Obviously, mayo made from eggs isn’t vegan.

So, what kind of mayonnaise is vegan? Egg-free mayo products are made using plant ingredients instead.

Here’s a list of the vegan brands to look for when shopping.

Where to Find Vegan Mayo

Generally speaking, you’ll be able to find vegan versions of mayo in well-stocked grocery stores. Even Walmart stocks them.

Like egg-based mayonnaise, you’ll find vegan versions at stores in two places.

First, check the refrigerated section with the perishable mayonnaise products. Many of the egg-free versions live there.

Finally, check the middle aisles for vegan options alongside other shelf-stable versions.

Vegan Mayo Brands

Do you make a vegan product that isn’t listed? Contact me.

A Quick Note: Hellman’s, owned by Unilever, also makes an egg-less mayo that is widely available.

I decided not to link to it because of their frivolous almost lawsuit and behind-the-scenes conspiracy to thwart the success of “vegan mayonnaise” made by Just, formerly Hampton Creek Foods.

Not cool.

I love the fact that more non-vegan companies are taking notice and creating more vegan options, I do.

Having options is vital if veganism is going to go mainstream.

If I was stranded on a desert island and the only vegan option available was Hellman’s, I would eat it.

[What? Vegans end up stranded on islands all the time.]

But, if I were at a grocery store where other choices are available, I’d choose a different brand.

That’s just me.

Reading Food Labels:

Can You Eat Mayo as a Vegan?

Vegans avoid mayonnaise because it contains eggs. Luckily, there are plenty of eggless choices. According to US law, products labeled ‘mayonnaise’ must contain egg yolks. For this reason, vegan products have “mayo” on the label instead. Some brands will also use the word ‘vegan.’ Others won’t.

 

Recipes to Try

Delicious, creamy egg-less mayo isn’t only at your local grocery or natural foods market. It can also be made at home.

Here are a few easy recipes to get you started.

7 Vegan Mayo Recipes

Jar of mayo sitting on a cutting board with chickpeas and a spoon.

1. Perfect Vegan Aquafaba Mayo
Minimalist Baker

Jar on a countertop with sandwich fixings.

2. Vegan Mayo
Love & Lemons

Vegan Mayo in a glass jar

4. Easy Vegan Mayo
The Simple Veganista

5. Vegan Mayo
The Hidden Veggies

Vegan mayo in a jar on a table

6. Oil-Free Vegan Mayo
Vegan Huggs

A butter knife with mayo sitting on top of a jar of mayo

7. Allergy-Free Vegan Mayonnaise
Strength & Sunshine

 

Recipes to Try

  1. Perfect Vegan Aquafaba Mayo
    Minimalist Baker
  1. Vegan Mayo
    Love & Lemons
  1. Vegan Mayonnaise (Thick & Creamy)
    Loving It Vegan
  1. Easy Vegan Mayo
    The Simple Veganista
  1. Vegan Mayo
    The Hidden Veggies
  1. Oil-Free Vegan Mayo
    Vegan Huggs
  1. Allergy-Free Vegan Mayonnaise
    Strength & Sunshine
 
Vegan Mayo - Shopping Guide, Recipes & more - Your Daily Vegan

Truth in Advertising

I am committed to providing accurate information to the vegan community. Meticulously researched, the vegan topic explored in this guide contains the information available at the time of publishing.

I don’t just say it; I source it too.

Please contact me if you find incorrect data.

Article Photo Credits

Article Photos: Shutterstock
Recipe photos via recipe authors and used with permission