Guides / Living & Lifestyle Guides / Holiday / St.Patrick’s Day

Vegan St. Patrick’s Day

Holidays usually are a time of joy and cheer; however, the holidays can have challenges whether you are a new vegan or experienced one. Let’s explore.

Vegan St. Patrick's Day Guide | Your Daily Vegan

Published: March 2015
Last Update: February 2023

Reading Time: 13 minutes

Celebrate vegan-style

Are you planning a Vegan St. Patrick’s Day celebration? You’ve come to the right place.

First, I’ll show you how to create your own green food dye because everything is green for this holiday.

Next up, recipes galore! Whatever type of vegan St. Patrick’s Day recipes you’re looking for, they’re bound to be here. Savory or sweet, this guide has them.

Finally, we’ll discuss what alcohols are vegan-friendly. I’ve even thrown in a few cocktails to try at home.

It’s everything you’ll need to celebrate the greenest day of the year.

 
A jar of green food coloring sitting on an outstretched palm.

Homemade green food dye / Source

1. Homemade food coloring

Because artificial colors are everywhere.

Artificial Food Colors Are Everywhere

Green is the official color for St. Patrick’s Day.

Stores pack their shelves with green hats, glasses, beads, cups, and t-shirts. Bars serve up mugs of green beer and other green-hued cocktails. Grocery stores serve green frosted cookies, cakes, and cupcakes with impossibly cute green sprinkles.

Green, green, everywhere you look! Generally, these food and drinks get their colors from artificial food colors.

I am not a fan of artificial food colors.

These toxic chemicals masquerading as food are only possible through the wonder of chemistry and the oil drilling industry. Studies have shown various adverse health effects from ingesting them. And did you know that artificial food colors undergo animal testing to ensure their safety as a food additive?

It’s true.

How to make homemade food coloring

Every time a holiday approaches, artificial colors go on sale. Magazines, blogs, and videos feature impossibly cute and creative treats made with various unnatural colors achieved through the magic of artificial colors.

There’s a better way; to make bright, vivid colors at home.

Look at that green up there! Spectacular! And it's easy to make from everyday ingredients in your fridge or pantry.

Trust me; it’s not complicated or expensive.

Click here for the full step-by-step homemade food coloring tutorial.

Shop for Green Vegan Food Coloring

Would you prefer to buy green vegan food dye? No problem.

Here are a few that are colored with vegetable juice or spices and contain no synthetic dyes.

Disclosure: These two options contain affiliate links I earn from qualifying purchases. See my Affiliate Policy for more details.

Color Kitchen Food Colors from Nature

I picked up a few packets to test out on my favorite sugar cookies.

I’m a fan.

First, the colors come packaged in individual packets, which means I don’t over-buy. Second, the colors mix easily and create beautiful colors. I don’t even mind that they’re more pastel than bright. Lastly, they’re budget-friendly.

Here’s a 10-pack, Color Kitchen Food Colors from Nature, that makes a good starter pack.

McCormick Nature’s Inspiration Food Colors

By far, these colors are the cheapest and the most widely available. The powdered colors come in a pack of three colors which you can mix for a variety of colors.

I bought this McCormick Nature’s Inspiration Food Colors pack when I made these unicorn sugar cookies. Just look how vivid the colors turned out!

 

Drinks & Cocktails

Does your favorite drink or cocktail contain more than just alcohol?

People toasting each other with beer

Can Vegans Drink Beer, Wine, or Spirits?

If you’re unfamiliar with vegan foods, it might surprise you to learn about animal ingredients hiding in your favorite beer or wine. Some beer and wine go through a clarifying process that uses animal products such as isinglass (fish bladders), egg whites, or gelatin. And because alcohol is commonly exempt from labeling requirements that other food products have, these ingredients are rarely listed on the packaging.

Luckily, there’s an easy-to-use website for that. Without a doubt, Barnivore is the go-to website to check most beer and wines' vegan status.

Thankfully, you can find vegan-friendly beer, wine, and liquor at almost any store. Especially important for those wanting to celebrate a vegan St. Patrick's Day!

Here are a few popular brands that are suitable for vegan imbibers.

Vegan St. Patrick's Day Beers & Stouts

  • Barney Flat's Oatmeal Stout
  • Harvest Moon Paddy’s Irish Stout
  • Harvest Moon An Irish
  • George Killian’s Irish Red
  • Michelob Irish
  • Rogue Irish Lager
  • Samuel Smith’s Imperial Stout

Find more options by visiting vegan beer on Barnivore.

Whiskey

  • Black Velvet
  • Jim Beam
  • Jameson Irish Whiskey

Find more brands by visiting vegan-friendly whiskey brands on Barnivore.

Make Your Own Vegan St. Patrick's Day Cocktail

If something premade doesn’t tickle your fancy, try making your own very vegan St. Patrick's Day cocktail. I gathered up a few recipes to help inspire you.

  1. Vegan Baileys Irish Cream
    Spabettie
  1. Boozy Shamrock Shake
    Plant-Powered Couple
  1. Vegan Irish Coffee
    Kitchen Treaty
  1. Vegan Baileys Almond Milk Liqueur
    My Pure Plants
  1. Vegan Whiskey Sour
    The Edgy Veg
  1. Old Fashioned
    Minimalist Baker

Final Thoughts

A plea to all vegan imbibers: Go, have fun. Meet up with friends. Dance with people and have a good time.

When you are ready to leave, don’t drink and drive.

Plan ahead.

Get a designated driver, call a cab, get an uber or Uber, call a friend, or call your mom.

All it takes is one accident to change lives. It’s not worth it.

Drink Responsibly.

People toasting each other with beer

Can Vegans Drink Beer, Wine, or Spirits?

If you’re unfamiliar with vegan foods, it might surprise you to learn about animal ingredients hiding in your favorite beer or wine. Some beer and wine go through a clarifying process that uses animal products such as isinglass (fish bladders), egg whites, or gelatin. And because alcohol is commonly exempt from labeling requirements that other food products have, these ingredients are rarely listed on the packaging.

Luckily, there’s an easy-to-use website for that. Without a doubt, Barnivore is the go-to website to check most beer and wines' vegan status.

Thankfully, you can find vegan-friendly beer, wine, and liquor at almost any store. Especially important for those wanting to celebrate a vegan St. Patrick's Day!

Here are a few popular brands that are suitable for vegan imbibers.

Vegan St. Patrick's Day Beers & Stouts

  • Barney Flat's Oatmeal Stout
  • Harvest Moon Paddy’s Irish Stout
  • Harvest Moon An Irish
  • George Killian’s Irish Red
  • Michelob Irish
  • Rogue Irish Lager
  • Samuel Smith’s Imperial Stout

Find more options by visiting vegan beer on Barnivore.

Whiskey

  • Black Velvet
  • Jim Beam
  • Jameson Irish Whiskey

Find more brands by visiting vegan-friendly whiskey brands on Barnivore.

Make Your Own Vegan St. Patrick's Day Cocktail

If something premade doesn’t tickle your fancy, try making your own very vegan St. Patrick's Day cocktail. I gathered up a few recipes to help inspire you.

Three glasses of Bailey's Irish Cream
Boozy shamrock shake in a glass with a metallic straw

2. Boozy Shamrock Shake
Plant-Powered Couple

Glass of Irish coffee sitting on a tea towel

3. Vegan Irish Coffee
Kitchen Treaty

Glass of vegan Baileys
A hand pouring a whiskey sour drink in a glass

5. Vegan Whiskey Sour
The Edgy Veg

Someone pouring an Old Fashioned cocktail

6. Old Fashioned
Minimalist Baker

Final Thoughts

A plea to all vegan imbibers: Go, have fun. Meet up with friends. Dance with people and have a good time.

When you are ready to leave, don’t drink and drive.

Plan ahead.

Get a designated driver, call a cab, get an uber or Uber, call a friend, or call your mom.

All it takes is one accident to change lives. It’s not worth it.

Drink Responsibly.

Vegan St. Patrick's Day Recipes / Your Daily Vegan

Truth in Advertising

I am committed to providing accurate information to the vegan community. Meticulously researched, the vegan topic explored in this guide contains the information available at the time of publishing.

I don’t just say it; I source it too.

Please contact me if you find incorrect data.

Photo Credits

Guide Photos: Adobe Stock
Recipe photos via creators and used with permission