Published: May 2015
Last Update: September 2022
Are you searching for dairy-free yogurt? Then you’re in the right place. There are plenty of yogurt options made from a variety of plant milk.
Vegan options include yogurts from various plant kinds of milk like almond, cashew, coconut, oat, or soy milk. Filled with probiotic bacteria, dairy-free yogurt can be a beneficial addition to a healthy diet.
Let me tell you more.
Dairy-free options at grocery stores / Source
Here’s what you need to know before you head to the store.
Let’s talk yogurt basics.
You probably already know that dairy-based yogurt is made with animal milk like cows, goats, or sheep. In these cases, the yogurt isn’t suitable for vegans because the type of milk, animal-based, is used to make it.
So, what kind of yogurt is vegan?
Brands that use plant milks like almond, cashew, coconut, oat, soy, or other plant-based milk are usually vegan. Head to the grocery store's refrigerated section where the dairy products live. Vegan versions are typically right next to dairy versions.
Read the label carefully, and look for ones marked dairy-free, plant-based, or vegan.
Ready for cooking inspiration? These recipes will surely satisfy you.