Published: August 2015 Last Update: September 2022
Reading Time: 5 minutes
It's true; life is sweeter with ice cream
We love it. We write songs and poems about our devotion to the cold, creamy confection. We’re even willing to chase after trucks driving down the road just to buy some.
Luckily, getting a dairy-free version of that cool, creamy taste you love has never been easier. This guide will introduce you to all the vegan options and give you everything you need to know.
First, we'll go shopping. I'll tell you the brands to look for and what milk each uses. Next, we'll head into the kitchen with tons of recipes to inspire you. Finally, I'll share a list of vegan ice cream cookbooks available.
Here’s what you need to know before you head to the store.
Quick section summary:
What kind of ice cream is vegan?
Common names for vegan ice cream products are “frozen dessert” or “dairy-free frozen dessert.” Check the label for non-vegan ingredients like dairy-based milk or cream, whey, lactose, casein, caseinate, sodium caseinate, lactic acid, capric acid, and milk solids. Instead, choose ice creams made from plant milk, fruits, or nuts.
Find dairy-free ice cream in stores
Let’s talk about dairy-free ice cream basics.
You probably know that ice cream usually contains dairy milk or creams. Ice cream made from these products isn’t suitable for vegans. Dairy-free ice cream products use plant ingredients like soy, cashew, coconut, avocado, and aquafaba.
You’ll find vegan ice cream in the freezer section, right where you’d expect them to be. Generally speaking, most well-stocked grocery stores offer some non-dairy options.