Here’s what you need to know before you head to the store.
Let’s talk about sour cream basics.
You probably already know that sour cream is a dairy product. It’s the result of fermenting cream with lactic acid bacteria. In these cases, the sour cream isn't suitable for vegans because of the cream used to make it.
So, how are vegan versions made?
Dairy-free options include foods like tofu, nuts, seeds, and vegetables like cauliflower to make their creamy offerings.
You'll find dairy-free sour cream in the same refrigerated case alongside the other non-vegan versions at most mainstream grocery stores.
Note: Follow Your Heart and Earth Island are the same company. Follow Your Heart produces the Vegenaise product line, while Earth Island produces the Vegan Gourmet line.