Knotts Berry Farm Goes Vegan

Home>Knotts Berry Farm Goes Vegan

Knotts Berry Farm Goes Vegan

Knotts Berry Farm Goes Vegan

By Crystal Tremblay, Guest Contributor

Anaheim may be home to many theme parks, but one stands out beyond the rest because it is known as America’s 1st theme park: Knotts Berry Farm.  Keeping tradition, it “will soon be the first of its kind to offer fully gluten-free, vegan, and diabetic friendly options throughout the park,” just in time for summer. This vegan makeover is thanks to Carolyn Scott-Hamilton, better known as The Healthy Voyager.  Some of the tasty options coming are vegan, gluten-free, and soy-free baked mac n’ cheese, vegan and gluten-free pizza, and even vegan “buttermilk” battered “chicken” tenders!  Now along with enjoying all the rides, vegans can even stuff their faces with classic theme park food.

I know you may be super excited, but please make sure all that yumminess digests before you go on the Boomerang.  Other park-goers don’t need to see your lunch its second time around.

Crystal went vegan after a professor opened her eyes to the horrors of factory farming. She earned a degree in Environmental Science and another in Politics and Law. Always a fan of the written word, Crystal writes about veganism in all facets of life including college papers, social media, and most recently, her vegan blog.

14 Comments

  1. Tamara Lopez March 5, 2017 at 12:27 am - Reply

    I went today and the Camp Snoopy Grizzly Diner had Gardein Chicken strips. I saw that a few others offered it as well. I did not find find vegan funnel cake yet and when I saw some folks eating funnel cakes with boysenberry’s all over it – I drooled a puddle. Just bought my pass for the year..I am on a mission.

    • KD Angle Traegner March 5, 2017 at 6:11 pm - Reply

      Thank you for the update Tamara! Would you share with me if you find any more goodies? I’d love to do a follow up on this post :)

  2. Hando Stomper August 8, 2016 at 10:04 pm - Reply

    There are no vegan funnel cakes :(

  3. Hando Stomper August 8, 2016 at 10:04 pm - Reply

    There are no vegan funnel cakes!!
    There are vegan nuggets, pizza and burger in camp snoopy eatery…

  4. Kimberly Ireland December 17, 2014 at 6:59 pm - Reply

    I wouldn’t call having a very limited amount of options “going vegan” by any means. Knott’s is unorganized in this respect (gluten free options included) and the employees still have no idea as to what the vegan options (or even what VEGAN means) are. If you’re lucky you may find someone who has a clue, but that chance is very slim. If you’re visiting with children, or those very sensitive to gluten or dairy be sure to bring food, as cross contamination is imminent. There are NO separate fryers for vegan/GF options.

  5. Megan March 30, 2014 at 10:04 pm - Reply

    Went yesterday and most of the places do have it. You have to ask as most are not right on the menus (but the Vegan and GF funnel cakes were on the main sign).

    • Kimberly Ireland December 17, 2014 at 6:49 pm - Reply

      Hi Megan! Could you please share where you found the vegan options? I have children and don’t want to be dragging them from place to place in search of vegan options for them. So far I’ve been told of the following, Sutter’s Fine Family Fare: vegan pizza, and Ghost Town Grill: black bean burger. Where exactly were you able to find the funnel cakes, as I know that will be a must, lol? Thanks in advance and please feel free to contact me directly at kimbot68@gmail.com

  6. wasted time August 23, 2013 at 8:35 pm - Reply

    pretty pissed didn’t this say it was going to roll out this summer and still there aren;t any vegan options this is so misleading

    • KD Traegner August 24, 2013 at 8:01 am - Reply

      Hey Wasted Time, thanks for the comment. We linked to the original article that this news snippet came from which mentions a rollout- and we also mention that the items were due to be out by summer. I’d check with Knotts and find out what happened if you decide to plan a trip.

  7. D August 21, 2013 at 11:01 pm - Reply

    IS this legitimate?

  8. Tara July 26, 2013 at 9:55 pm - Reply

    This doesn’t exist. I am at knotts right now (7-26-13) and I have asked everywhere and nobody has vegan anything, with the exception of Johnny rockets with there Boca patty. I checked online before coming just to make sure I didn’t have to pack my own lunch, oh well, thank goodness I brought some snacks. Too bad, I was really looking forward to vegan funnel cake. I guess I’ll just stick with Disneyland.

  9. Detronyx July 21, 2013 at 9:33 pm - Reply

    Fyi, Knott’s isn’t the first theme park to offer these special dietary options. Disney has had Vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, and Kosher for quite a while, it seems. In any case, I’m happy to see Knott’s taking a step in the right direction!

    • Kimberly Ireland December 17, 2014 at 6:52 pm - Reply

      Not to mention Disney is VERY organized, even listing individual ingredients/restaurants/dishes, etc. Wish Knott’s would follow suit on this, it’s very difficult to navigate and the employees are completely unaware.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.