By Published On: 29 March 2013222 words1.2 min read

news329

Veagn version Easter candy! Veeps and more! “You may not know this, but there is a vegan version of just about every traditional Easter candy out there. Jelly beans, “Peeps” (which are not vegetarian because they contain gelatin!), chocolate bunnies, peanut butter eggs and cream-filled eggs. Check out these 7 vegan-version Easter candies to serve your little Easter bunnies and chicks (or yourself!)..”

Vegan Peeps: Just what we do (or don’t) need. “If you’re avoiding meat and any products made from animals, Peeps are on the “no thank you” list. Marshmallows look innocuous enough. But they can sometimes contain eggs and most commercially-produced ones use gelatin, which is derived from the hides and bones of animals (which could have been taken from pigs, meaning that many brands of marshmallows are not halal or kosher). In addition, gelatin has been reported to transmit bovine spongiform encephalopathy — Mad Cow Disease). Fortunately, there’s more than one way to make a marshmallow than with artificial colors and animal-based ingredients.”

7 tips: Hosting veg eaters at Easter dinner. “If you are hosting a traditional Easter dinner this year, but have a few (or just one!) vegetarian or vegan (or gluten-free, or allergy sensitive) dinner guest(s), here are seven tips to make them feel welcome and well-fed at your holiday celebration..”

Photo credit: gr0uch0 via Flickr

By Published On: 29 March 2013222 words1.2 min read

news329

Veagn version Easter candy! Veeps and more! “You may not know this, but there is a vegan version of just about every traditional Easter candy out there. Jelly beans, “Peeps” (which are not vegetarian because they contain gelatin!), chocolate bunnies, peanut butter eggs and cream-filled eggs. Check out these 7 vegan-version Easter candies to serve your little Easter bunnies and chicks (or yourself!)..”

Vegan Peeps: Just what we do (or don’t) need. “If you’re avoiding meat and any products made from animals, Peeps are on the “no thank you” list. Marshmallows look innocuous enough. But they can sometimes contain eggs and most commercially-produced ones use gelatin, which is derived from the hides and bones of animals (which could have been taken from pigs, meaning that many brands of marshmallows are not halal or kosher). In addition, gelatin has been reported to transmit bovine spongiform encephalopathy — Mad Cow Disease). Fortunately, there’s more than one way to make a marshmallow than with artificial colors and animal-based ingredients.”

7 tips: Hosting veg eaters at Easter dinner. “If you are hosting a traditional Easter dinner this year, but have a few (or just one!) vegetarian or vegan (or gluten-free, or allergy sensitive) dinner guest(s), here are seven tips to make them feel welcome and well-fed at your holiday celebration..”

Photo credit: gr0uch0 via Flickr

Leave a Comment

What do you think? Tell me in the comments.
All comments subject to the terms here.